Post, Telco Strategies & Policy

Mobile Television is With Us

 A beach umbrella, two sons, two nephews, three paipo boards (for the children), a beach chair (for me to watch the children), several bags…. ‘May I buy the newspaper?’ – I asked. No answer, just everybody stopped on their way to the sand, but I could read their minds – ‘ Dad, do you really think you will be managing to read it?’. Nevertheless… I bought it; indeed I have spent all my life tackling the impossible.A leaflet slid down from inside the newspaper. ‘It is one of those promotions like collect a hundred coupons and get the crockery that princess Letizia uses all Sundays’– I thought. But it was not; you only needed five coupons and 139 € just to get a small and portable digital terrestrial television set. That Sunday Fernando Alonso was going to fight against young Hamilton in an amazing Formula 1 race at Silverstone circuit, and I had already accepted that I was going to miss it! But I thought for a moment that the small 139 € gadget could be the solution; if someone had offered me that small TV, and provided I had been wearing my trousers (the ones that carry my VISA) and not my swimming trunks, I am sure I would have bought it.Yes, digital television, either fixed and portable (DVB-T) or mobile (DVB-H), is with us. The other day I was in Caracas promoting the DVB standards, and watched a DVB-H demo (the Nokia terminal is really cute). It was amazing; mobile TV (both broadcasting DVB-H or on-demand IPTV) will success, as sure.

Not only is mobile TV going to success but also Terrestrial Digital Television (the DVB-T standard concept, I mean, not the other standards).The simple idea of transforming one’s old television set into a universal service device (for only 30 €) that can bring everybody most of the advantages of current pay-TV television, for free, is really amazing.

I explained the concept to the taxi driver that took me to Simon Bolivar’s airport. He was delighted. The 29 € that a DVB-T decoder costs also delighted him. Indeed, he would be able to purchase almost two of those low-cost decoders with only the amount of a single to-the-airport service.

By the way, if you are travelling to Caracas I can send you his phone number and he will pick you up at the airport.

And be careful with the bumps!

About rafamompo

My intention is to show you in this page which are the activities and ideas I am currently putting hands on... or those who are roaming by my brain.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment